Posted by: The Amoeba | September 3, 2009

They Know …

Hawai‘i is the Aloha State, right?

hi2008june

For sure. Aloha is the defining characteristic of the State and its people. Says so right on the license plate where everyone can see it. Eh?

You wish to look again?

You know, I reckon, about the license plate brackets that are all the rage these days. Really give you a chance to celebrate your preferences (if you haven’t read George Saunders’s ‘My Flamboyant Grandson’, you ought to, and if you click on the link, you’ll get your opportunity). Well, put one of those over a Hawai‘i licence plate, and what do you get?

bracket

No aloha.

I was pedaling my bicycle up a steep little hill this morning – the same steep little hill I pedal my bicycle up every workday morning – and, just as it happens every workday morning, a string of cars roared past me as I pedaled. I decided I would count the cars that passed me before I reached the top of the hill, and work out how many of them showed aloha.

I counted twenty-four cars. One of them had the ‘Aloha State’ visible on its rear license plate.

It was at that moment that I realized it. They know. The citizens of Honolulu know that there is something desperately wrong with their aloha.

And they are ashamed.

I can’t say that I blame them …

Mahalo For Just Saying ‘Thank You’ (29 March 2007)

Dude and Dude: Aloha Phooey (6 September 2007)

Ferry Tales, Hawai`ian Style (7 September 2007)

The Buses of Paradise (9 September 2007)

More Ferry Tales, Hawai`ian Style (26 September 2007)

Yes, We Have Fast In Honolulu (21 July 2008)

Too Low A Ha (12 March 2009)

Hawai`ian C.A.V.E.-In (17 March 2009)

Save Mine: Plunder Yours (1 April 2009)

The Last Hawai`ian Ferry Tale (14 April 2009)

Typical Hawaiian Aloha (18 August 2009)

Honolulu Is Burning (1 September 2009)

  – O Ceallaigh
Copyright © 2009 Felloffatruck Publications. All wrongs deplored.
All opinions are mine as a private citizen.

Responses

  1. Picky Picky Picky…I think we should talk to the license plate holders Makers to make them make it thinner ya think? LOL

    • But, Thom, I don’t play guitar! We can talk to the bracket makers, but will they listen?

  2. On another note OC can you look at this link and leave a comment if you know what this white bug thing is Wordless Wednesday #3 – Mystery Bug Thank you my friend 🙂

    • I think I got the mystery bug. I’ve commented on Becca’s site.

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog. How can a mealybug (which I thought it was) and a mealybug destroyer basically look identical? Now I’m unsure which it is lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

