Posted by: The Amoeba | October 5, 2009

Enunciate Clearly Please

She was preparing a review for a book that she had read, as part of the research for her “Great American Novel” project …”

She: “I hate this kind of heroine!”

He: “Kind of a drug on the market, eh?”

She: “Say instead, like something the cat drug in. All oh woe is me, won’t some Prince Charming save me? How can anybody read this stuff?”

He [just at this moment, as if to prove that Divinity has a wry sense of humor, a truly torrential tropical downpour dumps on the house; He shouts over it]: “Well, the formula’s been around for a long time. I suppose it’s a form of addiction.”

She:What did you say?”

He:Addiction! Addiction!

She: “Are you complaining about my diction?”

He: “Yeah. I can hardly understand a word you’re saying. You should use a dictionary.”

She: “Right. So my diction can err as badly as yours? And my choice of words? NOT!

He: “I dibs my choice of knots!”

She: “And just what kind of knot would you choose?”

He: “A slip knot. One I can slip out of.”

  – O Ceallaigh
Copyright © 2009 Felloffatruck Publications. All wrongs deplored.
All opinions are mine as a private citizen.

Responses

  1. I am thinking more like knot head, dearest. :*

    • Sweetheart? What have I told you about mixing salt shakers and the Energizer bunny? :*

  2. Too funny; you have my sympathies over the hopeless heroine AND the downpour. When we had no water it rained, fogged and puddled, and we couldn’t help moaning that we were stranded high and dry in the wettest freakin’ country in the world.

    I agree too with the addiction aspect of romance paperbacks: I’ve seen some ugly things in that realm of readership.
    :-/


Leave a Reply

Categories

