Posted by: The Amoeba | October 19, 2009

Requiescat In Chevy

About six months ago, I invested about half an hour of my life directing traffic for some poor sap whose car had died in the middle of a busy Hawaiian road. I figured “OK, another experience checked off the life list. Don’t need to visit that one again. We move on.”

I must have figured too loudly. Somebody out there, some dastardly informant for the notorious Murphy, overheard the thought and passed it on to his Dark Boss, presumably for a fee. I hope those thirty pieces of silver are burning a hole in his pocket.

For, yesterday (18 October 2009), I invested another half hour directing traffic for some poor sap whose car had died in the middle of a busy Hawaiian road.

Except, this time, the poor sap was us.

I’ll let Quilly tell the rest of the story, in case you haven’t seen it already. She does a better job of telling these tales than I do, even when I’m at my best. And I’m still recuperating.

Dead car in the middle of the road …

  – O Ceallaigh
Copyright © 2009 Felloffatruck Publications. All wrongs deplored.
All opinions are mine as a private citizen.

Responses

  1. Okay, love, I know you’ve sung this song to me a few times but I was certain you made it up. I was sure nobody would have actually recorded such a thing. Now I need to learn it so I can teach it to small children ….

    • Quilly, I don’t know how you could have lived so long without having been exposed to one of the defining icons of Boomerdom.

  2. Saps do better with company. (Sorry to hear, by the way.)

    • And here I always thought that sappers preferred to do their work alone. ba da (ahem) BOOM.

  3. What a pair of lovely saps you both are LOL 🙂

    • Ah, Thom, if we could only go back to being saps. Um, that’s saplings

  4. […] Quilly! :. Email me! .: Quilly’s Feet! :. .: Amoeba’s Place :.Requiescat In Chevy October 20, 2009About six months ago, I invested about half an hour of my life directing traffic […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

