Posted by: The Amoeba | October 21, 2009

It Is Well With My Bowl

She: “Please pass the salad dressing?”

He: “OK … Dang!

She:What dang?”

He: “Something else we can’t use because we have town water.”

She: “I like town water. Or do you really wish to go back to flushing the toilet with a bucket?”

He: “Not I. But it means we can’t use the salad dressing. Read.”

She: “‘Shake well.'”

He:Exactly! We don’t have a well. And if you think I’m going to interrupt my dinner to track the Honolulu Water Department’s lines mauka five miles and up two thousand feet to shake their well, just so I can have a spot of sauce on my lettuce, you can think again.”

She: “I’m so glad I asked …”

  – O Ceallaigh
Copyright © 2009 Felloffatruck Publications. All wrongs deplored.
All opinions are mine as a private citizen.

Responses

  1. No worries, dear. This conversation shook ME.

    • You can relax now, Q. All is well.

  2. thank God — at first I thought the subject was your “bowel”

    • Now you know, Davis, that the fish biota of Hawai‘i does include the red herring.

  3. Good grief.

    • It’s all happuning, Charlie Brown. And tell your dog to stop trying to snatch my blankie!

  4. Well, well.
    I have a well, which is just as well, there being no town nearby.
    But that won’t convince me to eat salad more often.

    • Two holes in the ground, Susan. But are they good wells?


Leave a Reply

Categories

