Posted by: The Amoeba | May 7, 2010

Cockneys

A crew of patches, rude mechanicals,
That work for bread upon Athenian stalls,
Were met together to rehearse a play

          – Shakespeare, Midsummer Night’s Dream III, ii

Dirtier!” hollers the stage manager. “You’re all too nice, too clean! You don’t have much more in life than the rags on your back, and that’s how you have to be.

“And when the Professor throws those coins on the floor, scramble! If you get one, you eat tonight!”

The actors hurry away to put smudges on their faces, tears in their jackets.

In the dressing room, the talk is about the steady contraction of wages and jobs, the increasingly necessary things that are being done without …

  – O Ceallaigh
Copyright © 2010 Felloffatruck Publications. All wrongs deplored.
All opinions are mine as a private citizen.

Responses

  1. Right, you should be able to fake economic insecurity if you work at it.

    • The worry is, Dawg, that there will come a time when you don’t have to fake it …

  2. Love, you want me to sit in the front row and grab the coins that bounce off the stage? I don’t think they’ll be enough to cover the price of my entry ticket ….

    • Especially on account of because they’re slugs, Q.

  3. ill give you back the coins from new zealand
    you gave me

    • Tilden, I’m not even sure those coins are legal tender in New Zealand any more …

  4. Smear some ketchup in your beard man!

    • No, Melli, this is My Fair Lady, not Pirates of the Caribbean. I don’t think Erik the Red even got into that movie. But if I used shoe polish, I could be Blackbeard. Scared yet? Dang. I thought not.

  5. […] you have missed our other posts on the play, Amoeba has a couple up: Cockneys; and, Dude and Dude: Singin’ ‘n’ Dancin’.  And yesterday I posted: My Fair […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

