A Light Burden

She: “Can I get you anything?”

He: “Yes. I need a post before bedtime.”

She: “Are you sure it can’t wait until tomorrow? It’s already dark outside, and that’s going to make it difficult for me to find a post, dig it up, and carry it to the yard.”

He: “Oh, all right. It’s not like I have a legion of fans like you do, attending your every move. Tomorrow will have to do. And make it a light post, then it won’t be so hard to carry.”

She: “Y’know, that’s a really bright idea. Brilliant, even.”

He: “Not too brilliant, I hope. I’d hate to put the post up and then have the neighbors complain that they can’t get any sleep. That would be ironic.”

  – O Ceallaigh
Copyright © 2010 Felloffatruck Publications. All wrongs deplored.
All opinions are mine as a private citizen.

4 comments

  1. A pair of large flying monkey statues (from The Wizard of Oz) overlook the city of Burlington, Vermont.

    Ironically, the monkeys originally sat on top of a now closed water bed store — “Emerald City Waterbeds”.

  2. Sometimes your Significant Other takes you Too Literally, It would be fun though watching Quilly digging up the Post in the Dark.

Leave a comment